FactoWiki

Best Nerve Support Supplements: 5 Formulas Compared on ALA, B12, PEA and Safety

In nerve support supplements, what matters most is whether a formula contains the few ingredients with human evidence — alpha-lipoic acid (ALA) for diabetic neuropathy symptoms, vitamin B12 where deficiency exists, and palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) for chronic pain — rather than calming botanicals. Nervora stands out for containing only ALA, benfotiamine and B12, and Arialief for including PEA; botanical-only formulas rank lowest. No product here has been tested as a finished formula, benefits in trials were modest, and numbness or tingling should be diagnosed before any supplement is tried.

This guide contains no affiliate purchase links. FactoWiki may earn commissions through links on individual product review pages; those relationships did not determine the order or conclusions below. See our affiliate disclosure. General information, not medical advice.

Short verdict

Have the cause of nerve symptoms checked, including B12. If a supplement is still appropriate, choose a focused formula — Nervora for ALA, benfotiamine and B12, or Arialief if you want PEA — and avoid botanical-only products.

How we selected and assessed the products

We compared all five nerve support products FactoWiki has reviewed, on the same criteria in order of weight:

  1. Human evidence for neuropathic symptoms or pain.
  2. Meaningful, disclosed doses, particularly ALA near 600 mg.
  3. Formula transparency.
  4. Safety and interactions, including sedation and glucose effects.
  5. Category relevance.
  6. Marketing claims — “nerve regeneration” claims counted against a product.
  7. Price, value and refund terms — considered last.

Full criteria are in our review methodology.

Quick comparison

ProductMain ingredientsDose transparencyEvidence strengthMain advantageImportant limitationPrice / valueWho may consider it
NervoraALA, benfotiamine, B12Short named listModerate (ALA)Most focusedALA dose unconfirmed$49–69/bottle; 60-dayDiagnosed diabetic neuropathy or low B12
ArialiefPEA, ALA, magnesium + 3Not establishedModerate (PEA, ALA)Includes PEARefund terms inconsistent30/60-day; price not verifiedAssessed nerve pain
NerveAliveALA, benfotiamine, B12, ALCAR + 4Not disclosedLimited–moderateAll researched nutrientsDiluted; feverfew$49–69/bottle; 60-dayNot on blood thinners
NerveCalmCorydalis, poppy, passionflower, ALA, ALCARNot disclosedLimitedCalming angleSedation$49–69/bottle; 180-dayNight-time comfort seekers
Nerve FreshFive calming botanicalsNot disclosedWeakNo nerve nutrients60-day; price not verifiedNot recommended

Prices and refund windows are as described by sellers at the time of our individual reviews and were not re-verified for this guide. “Evidence strength” refers to the main ingredients, not the finished product.

Products compared

Nervora

What it is: A three-ingredient nerve nutrient capsule.

Key ingredients: Alpha-lipoic acid, benfotiamine and vitamin B12.

What is actually different: The shortest formula here, built only on the three nutrients most associated with nerve research.

Evidence strengths: Alpha-lipoic acid has randomised trials in diabetic neuropathy at 600 mg a day; B12 corrects a common, treatable cause of neuropathy. Weaknesses: ALA’s benefits are modest and mostly short-term; benfotiamine evidence is limited. We did not confirm that Nervora supplies 600 mg of ALA. No product trial.

Dose transparency: Short named formula; per-ingredient amounts not verified in our review.

Safety issue to check: ALA may lower blood glucose, relevant for people on diabetes medicines.

Pros

  • Most focused formula
  • No filler botanicals
  • About $49–69 per bottle listed; 60-day refund window per seller

Cons

  • ALA dose unconfirmed
  • Similar products can be assembled from single nutrients

Who may reasonably consider it: Adults with diagnosed diabetic neuropathy, or confirmed low B12, who have discussed supplements with their clinician. Read the full Nervora review.

Arialief

What it is: A capsule led by palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) and alpha-lipoic acid.

Key ingredients: PEA, alpha-lipoic acid, magnesium glycinate, butcher’s broom, L-carnitine and turmeric.

What is actually different: The only product compared here that includes PEA, which has pain-trial evidence independent of ALA.

Evidence strengths: Meta-analyses of double-blind trials report reduced pain scores with PEA across chronic pain conditions; ALA adds diabetic neuropathy evidence. Weaknesses: PEA trials used specific micronised preparations, often around 600 mg or more a day; butcher’s broom and turmeric add little for nerves. No product trial.

Dose transparency: Amounts not established.

Safety issue to check: ALA and blood glucose; butcher’s broom may raise blood pressure in some people.

Pros

  • Two ingredients with meaningful human evidence
  • Seller pages cite 30- or 60-day refund windows

Cons

  • PEA form and dose unknown
  • Short or inconsistent refund terms

Who may reasonably consider it: Adults with nerve pain who have been assessed and want a PEA-containing option. Read the full Arialief review.

NerveAlive

What it is: An eight-ingredient nerve nutrient and botanical blend.

Key ingredients: Alpha-lipoic acid, benfotiamine, vitamin B12, acetyl-L-carnitine, turmeric, magnesium, feverfew and passionflower.

What is actually different: Nervora’s three nutrients plus acetyl-L-carnitine and calming botanicals.

Evidence strengths: Covers the main researched nerve nutrients. Weaknesses: Extra ingredients dilute the key ones; feverfew and passionflower lack nerve evidence. No product trial.

Dose transparency: Amounts not disclosed.

Safety issue to check: Feverfew may increase bleeding risk with blood thinners; passionflower can add to sedative medicines.

Pros

  • Covers the researched nutrients
  • $49–69 per bottle listed; 60-day refund window per seller

Cons

  • Diluted
  • Botanical interactions

Who may reasonably consider it: Similar buyers to Nervora who want acetyl-L-carnitine included and are not on blood thinners or sedatives. Read the full NerveAlive review.

NerveCalm

What it is: A botanical nerve-comfort blend with ALA and acetyl-L-carnitine.

Key ingredients: Corydalis, California poppy, marshmallow root, passionflower, alpha-lipoic acid and acetyl-L-carnitine.

What is actually different: Leads with calming botanicals, with ALA as a secondary ingredient.

Evidence strengths: ALA is its best-evidenced ingredient. Weaknesses: Corydalis and California poppy have traditional use and limited human data. No product trial.

Dose transparency: Amounts not disclosed.

Safety issue to check: California poppy, passionflower and corydalis can cause drowsiness and add to sedatives or alcohol.

Pros

  • Contains ALA
  • $49–69 per bottle listed; 180-day refund window per seller

Cons

  • Botanical-led
  • Sedation risk

Who may reasonably consider it: People who want a calming night-time product and accept limited nerve evidence. Read the full NerveCalm review.

Nerve Fresh

What it is: A five-botanical capsule without the nerve nutrients.

Key ingredients: Prickly pear, passionflower, marshmallow root, corydalis and California poppy.

What is actually different: Contains none of the nutrients with nerve research — no ALA, B vitamins or PEA.

Evidence strengths: Some botanicals have calming traditions. Weaknesses: No ingredient has meaningful neuropathy evidence. No product trial.

Dose transparency: Amounts not disclosed.

Safety issue to check: Sedation with alcohol or sleep medicines.

Pros

  • 60-day refund window per seller

Cons

  • No evidence-based nerve ingredients
  • Sedation risk

Who may reasonably consider it: We cannot identify a neuropathy buyer for whom this is the better choice. Read the full Nerve Fresh review.

What ingredients have the best evidence?

These summaries describe research on individual ingredients, prepared by the FactoWiki Research Team. They do not show that any product above works.

Alpha-lipoic acid Moderate, short-term

In the SYDNEY 2 trial, 181 people with diabetic polyneuropathy took 600, 1,200 or 1,800 mg of oral ALA or placebo for five weeks; symptoms improved, and 600 mg appeared to offer the best balance of benefit and side effects (Ziegler et al., 2006). Several investigators had financial ties to the ALA manufacturer. See what alpha-lipoic acid is good for.

PEA (palmitoylethanolamide) Moderate

A meta-analysis of 11 double-blind randomised trials (774 patients) reported reduced pain intensity with PEA compared with placebo or active comparators across chronic pain conditions, with no major side effects attributed to PEA (2023 meta-analysis). See our PEA guide.

Vitamin B12 Strong where deficient

B12 deficiency can cause nerve damage, and correcting it is a genuine treatment; the NIH ODS notes higher deficiency risk in older adults and people taking metformin or acid-reducing medicines. See B12 deficiency and nerve health.

Benfotiamine and acetyl-L-carnitine Limited

Both have small trials in diabetic neuropathy with inconsistent results. See our benfotiamine guide.

Calming botanicals (corydalis, California poppy, passionflower) Weak

Traditional use for pain or sleep, with little neuropathy-specific human evidence.

What the research does not prove

Ingredient evidence: ALA mainly in diabetic polyneuropathy over weeks; PEA across mixed chronic pain conditions; B12 where deficient.

Dose evidence: trials used specific amounts, such as 600 mg ALA; none of these products discloses doses we could verify.

Finished-product evidence: none of the five products has a published trial we could find.

The research does not show that any product regenerates nerves, reverses neuropathy or replaces glucose control, foot care and prescribed pain treatment.

How to choose a nerve support supplement

See the nerve supplement buying checklist. On the label:

Safety

See are nerve supplements safe and what causes tingling in feet.

Frequently asked questions

Which nerve support supplement in this comparison has the best formula?

Nervora, for focus: it contains only alpha-lipoic acid, benfotiamine and B12. Arialief is the better choice if you specifically want PEA. Neither has been tested as a finished product.

Does alpha-lipoic acid help neuropathy?

In the SYDNEY 2 trial, 600 mg a day for five weeks improved neuropathic symptoms in people with diabetic polyneuropathy. Benefits are modest, most trials are short, and several were sponsored by an ALA manufacturer.

Should I get my B12 checked before buying a nerve supplement?

Yes. B12 deficiency is a treatable cause of numbness and tingling, is more common in older adults and people taking metformin or acid-reducing medicines, and may need higher doses or injections than a blend provides.

What is PEA and does it help nerve pain?

Palmitoylethanolamide is a naturally occurring fatty-acid compound. A 2023 meta-analysis of 11 double-blind trials reported lower pain scores with PEA across chronic pain conditions, though trial preparations and doses varied.

Can supplements reverse neuropathy?

No supplement has been shown to reverse nerve damage. For diabetic neuropathy, good glucose control and foot care are central, and prescription treatments exist for nerve pain.

Are nerve supplements safe with diabetes medication?

ALA may lower blood glucose, so monitor more closely and tell your clinician. Botanical blends can also cause drowsiness or interact with blood thinners.

When is numbness or tingling urgent?

Seek urgent care for sudden weakness, numbness on one side of the body, facial drooping or trouble speaking. See a doctor promptly for rapidly worsening numbness, balance problems or foot wounds that do not heal.

Related on FactoWiki

Nerve Health category guide · NerveAlive vs Nervora · Do nerve support supplements work? · Best vitamins for nerve health · How we review